When life hands you expired frosting…

…toss it, and make your own! We are recovering from a birthday weekend around these parts. Little Miss Estelle turned 3 on Saturday, and we had one stellar day full of presents, cake, ice cream, train rides, carousel, and farm animals. We decided to keep things simple, and skip the birthday party in our too-small-for-a-party house this year. I bought some Whole Foods cupcakes, and we sent $40 to daycare for pizza. Estelle was way excited to celebrate with her friends at school.

Come on! We couldn’t keep things THAT simple. We also attended a small family gathering to celebrate the spring birthdays, it just happened to fall on Estelle’s birthday due to scheduling conflicts. I offered to bake the cake since my mom had left a Betty Crocker cake mix and frosting at our house when they visited two weekends ago. I baked the cake one night, using a bundt pan, because I don’t have two round cake pans (just one, of course). The next night, I promised Estelle she could help me decorate the cake. I open the Betty Crocker confetti frosting, and didn’t really like the grayish pink color it had to it. I still licked the frosting and gave some to the toddler. Then I checked the expiration date: July 2010. Ummm! I couldn’t possibly use it if it looked weird AND was so old. Quick, must think of something. I tried my handy dandy Joy of Cooking book, but those recipes were too complex. Next I Googled “easy bundt cake glaze”, and came up with this bad boy. It had me at four ingredients, including my favorite, almond extract. I barely had one cup of confectioner’s sugar, so however much I made had to be enough. Luckily, I had some sprinkles to make things look less sad. Don’t be fooled, it wasn’t all rainbow sprinkles and butterflies on our kitchen. I was so flustered, I kept telling Estelle not to touch ANYTHING! If she hates baking in the future, I will know it was because of me.

The cake results:

The curtain of balloons was a big hit, but didn’t last long!

Cake glaze recipe via About.com:

  1. Melt 1/4 cup (4 tablespoons) of butter in a saucepan or microwave.
  2. Sift 2 cups of powdered sugar into a medium size bowl.
  3. Add the melted butter to the powdered sugar.
  4. Add 2 tablespoons of milk.
  5. If desired, add 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract or 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla for flavor.
  6. Beat until smooth and creamy, adding a little more milk if necessary.
  7. Drizzle over a cooled cake.

Over and out!

Stephanie

One response to “When life hands you expired frosting…

  1. Yum! That cake looks great, Steph!

Leave a Reply

